On Sunday, Arizona Diamondback‘s pitcher Madison Bumgarner threw a no-hitter against the Atlanta Braves for a 7-0 win.

While Bumgarner did throw a no-hitter, he officially did not. It was not recognized because the game was only seven innings due to the fact that it was part of a doubleheader. Instead, Bumgarner’s efforts are recognized as a shutout. The ruling comes from a 1991 decision in which then-commissioner Fay Vincent declared that no-hitters must span at least nine innings. The 1991 rule changed defined as a no-hitter as “a game in which a pitcher, or pitchers, gives up no hits while pitching at least nine innings. A pitcher may give up a run or runs so long as he pitches nine innings or more and does not give up a hit.”

While it was not officially recognized, the Diamondbacks sure did recognize and celebrated it as a no-hitter. “It counts in our book,” the team tweeted out.

In the post-game conference, the veteran pitcher dryly joked about his no-hitter not officially counting. “I want to thank these shadows in Atlanta they helped me out a good bit,” the veteran said. “That was awesome, and I want to thank Rob Manfred for making these seven-inning games.”

Fellow teammate Zac Gallen also had a no-hitter into the sixth inning before it became a one-hit shutout in the first game of the doubleheader. Gallen gave his thoughts about it not being a no-hitter. “It wouldn’t have counted, so that makes me feel better that it wasn’t actually a no-hitter anyway,” Gallen said. “The complete-game shutout, I guess, works. That’s fine. We won. It really doesn’t matter. That’s the most important part.”

Read more about:

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Listen to the uInterview Podcast!
Get the most-revealing celebrity conversations with the uInterview podcast!