Former Indianapolis Colts QB Andrew Luck is a now officially a Hall of Famer—a college football Hall of Famer, that is.

Luck was announced as part of a 21-member class Monday by the National Football Foundation, prior to the College Football National Championship Playoff Game.

While at Stanford, he ran into some bad “luck” as he twice finished as runner-up in Heisman Trophy voting. Luck departed Stanford with a 31-7 record as starter, passing for 9,430 yards and 82 touchdowns. In 2011, he took home the Maxwell, Walter Camp, and Johnny Unitas Golden Arm awards.

“He was the best of his generation and is still a measuring stick for all quarterbacks who have come after him,” said Stanford head football coach David Shaw.

“I’m so honored to be a member of the Class of 2022 College Football Hall of Fame,” Luck said. “I have to say a big thank you to everyone at Stanford, especially my coaches, teammates, and wife.”

Luck was drafted first overall by the Colts in the 2012 NFL Draft and threw for 23,671 yards and 171 touchdowns to 83 picks in seven seasons with the Colts, despite missing half of 2015 and all of 2017 with injuries.

He returned with a vengeance in 2018, passing for 4,593 yards and 39 touchdowns to earn NFL Comeback Player of the Year honors. He then abruptly retired a couple of weeks prior to the 2019 season.

The College Football Hall of Fame induction ceremony is scheduled for December 6, 2022.

The list of inductees also includes:


  • LaVar Arrington – LB, Penn State (1997-99)
  • Champ Bailey – DB, Georgia (1996-98)
  • Michael Crabtree – WR, Texas Tech (2007-08)
  • Sylvester Croom – C, Alabama (1972-74)
  • Mike Doss – S, Ohio State (1999-2002)
  • Chuck Ealey – QB, Toledo (1969-71)
  • Kevin Faulk – AP/RB, LSU (1995-98)
  • Moe Gardner – DT, Illinois (1987-90)
  • Boomer Grigsby – LB, Illinois State (2001-04)
  • Mike Hass – WR, Oregon State (2002-05)
  • Marvin Jones – LB, Florida State (1990-92)
  • Andrew Luck – QB, Stanford (2009-11)
  • Mark Messner – DT, Michigan (1985-88)
  • Terry Miller – RB, Oklahoma State (1974-77)
  • Rashaan Salaam – RB, Colorado (1992-94)
  • Dennis Thomas – C, Alcorn State (1971-73)
  • Zach Wiegert – OT, Nebraska (1991-94)
  • Roy Williams – DB, Oklahoma (1999-2001)


  • John Luckhardt – 225-70-2 (76.1%); Washington & Jefferson [PA] (1982-98), California [PA] (2002-11)
  • Billy Jack Murphy – 91-44-1 (67.3%); Memphis (1958-71)
  • Gary Pinkel – 191-110-3 (63.3%); Toledo (1991-2000), Missouri (2001-15)

Read more about:

Leave a comment

Chat With uSports On Facebook! Get latest news and interviews delivered directly to your Messenger!