The NBA announced Wednesday that Steph Curry will receive the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Social Justice Champion Award. Curry will become the third player to receive the award for his work to promote voting participation in marginalized communities.

For winning the award, Curry will receive $100,000 to donate to the organization of his choice. He has reportedly selected the University of San Francisco Institute for Nonviolence and Social Justice.

“Curry prioritizes uplifting communities by fostering equity and creating access to opportunity,” the league said in a statement. “As a co-chair of former First Lady Michelle Obama’s ‘When We All Vote’ initiative, Curry uses his platform to drive voter registration, education and turnout, most recently during the 2022 election season. His role encouraged millions of new voters to participate in the political process and make their voices heard through civic engagement.”

The award, named after NBA legend and civil rights activist Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, was created in 2021 to honor players making strides in the pursuit of social justice. Carmelo Anthony was the inaugural winner in 2021 for his decades-long efforts to ensure equal representation for black communities. Veteran player Reggie Bullock won in 2022 for his support of the LGBTQ+ community through philanthropy and work with a number of local organizations.

Subscribe to our free weekly newsletter!

A week of sports news in your in-box.
We find the sports news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Over the years, Curry has delivered several emphatic statements promoting increased voter participation in national and local elections, including an impassioned address to the Senate in 2021 to pass the Freedom to Vote Act. The bill aimed to limit voter suppression, gerrymandering and other partisan election practices but stalled on the Senate floor.

“Curry is also committed to raising awareness around issues of community safety, utilizing the Warriors’ 2023 White House visit to engage directly with President Biden and participate in a White House press briefing with head coach Steve Kerr to publicly address the matter.”

Curry was one of five players nominated for the 2023 award, along with Jaren Jackson Jr., Tre Jones, Grant Williams and Chris Paul. While the Warriors star receives $100,000, the other four nominees will receive $25,000 which they can donate to programs of their choice as well.

Read more about:

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Listen to the uInterview Podcast!
Get the most-revealing celebrity conversations with the uInterview podcast!