The 2018 Kentucky Derby is set to take place on Saturday, and here is the lineup and general information for the big race at Churchill Downs.

Kentucky Derby 2018 Preview And Lineup

Live coverage will begin at 11:30 am EST on NBC, and can be streamed for free at fuboTV. The post time for the race this year is 6:34pm EST. However, the competition won’t actually begin until 6:46 pm. The winner’s prize is set for $2 million. Always Dreaming, the horse led by jockey John Velazquez, won the Derby in 2017.

Colt Justify, age 3, is one of the favorites to win this year’s Derby, despite not having raced as a two-year old. Led by jockey Mike Smith and trainer Bob Baffert, Justify won the Santa Anita Derby by 3 lengths on April 7. The horse is 3-0-0 in three starts.

SLIDESHOW: 30 Best Sports Instagrams!


A week of sports news in your in-box.
We find the sports news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Here is the full lineup of 20 horses competing in the race:

1. Firenze Fire (50-1)

Owner: Mr. Amore Stable

Trainer: Jason Servis

Jockey: Paco Lopez

Record: 4-1-0 in nine starts

2. Free Drop Billy (30-1)

Owner: Albaugh Family Stables

Trainer: Dale Romans

Jockey: Robby Albarado

Record: 2-3-2 in eight starts

3. Promises Fulfilled (30-1)

Owner: Robert Baron

Trainer: Dale Romans

Jockey: Corey Lanerie

Record: 3-0-1 in five starts

4. Flameaway (30-1)

Owner: John Oxley

Trainer: Mark Casse

Jockey: Jose Lezcano

Record: 5-2-0 in nine starts

5. Audible (8-1)

Owners: China Horse Club International, Head of Plains Partners, Starlight Racing and WinStar Farm

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Javier Castellano

Record: 4-0-1 in five starts

6. Good Magic (12-1)

Owners: E Five Racing Thoroughbreds and Stonestreet Stables

Trainer: Chad Brown

Jockey: Jose Ortiz

Record: 2-2-1 in five starts

7. Justify (3-1)

Owners: China Horse Club International, Head of Plains Partners, Starlight Racing and WinStar Farm

SLIDESHOW: 10 Highest-Paid Athletes

8. Lone Sailor (50-1)

Owner: G M B Racing

Trainer: Tom Amoss

Jockey: James Graham

Record: 1-3-1 in eight starts

9. Hofburg (20-1)

Owner: Juddmonte Farms

Trainer: Bill Mott

Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr.

Record: 1-1-0 in three starts

10. My Boy Jack (30-1)

Owners: Don’t Tell My Wife Stables and Monomoy Stables

Trainer: Keith Desormeaux

Jockey: Kent Desormeaux

Record: 3-3-2 in 10 starts

11. Bolt d’Oro (8-1)

Owner/trainer: Mick Ruis

Jockey: Victor Espinoza

Record: 4-1-1 in six starts 

12. Enticed (30-1)

Owner: Godolphin

Trainer: Kiaran McLaughlin

Jockey: Junior Alvarado

Record: 3-1-1 in six starts

13. Bravazo (50-1)

Owner: Calumet Farm

Trainer: D. Wayne Lukas

Jockey: Luis Contreras

Record: 3-1-1 in eight starts

14. Mendelssohn (5-1)

Owners: Derrick Smith, Susan Magnier and Michael Tabor

Trainer: Aidan O’Brien

Jockey: Ryan Moore

Record: 4-1-0 in seven starts

15. Instilled Regard (50-1)

Owner: Oxo Equine

Trainer: Jerry Hollendorfer

Jockey: Drayden Van Dyke

Record: 2-2-1 in seven starts

16. Magnum Moon (6-1)

Owners: Lawana and Robert Low

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Luis Saez

Record: 4-0-0 in four starts

17. Solomini (30-1)

Owner: Zayat Stables, Susan Magnier, Michael Tabor and Derrick Smith

Trainer: Bob Baffert

Jockey: Flavien Prat

Record: 1-3-2 in six starts

18. Vino Rosso (12-1)

Owners: Repole Stable and St. Elias Stable

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Jockey: John Velazquez

Record: 3-0-1 in five starts

19. Noble Indy (30-1)

Owners: WinStar Farm and Repole Stable

Trainer: Todd Pletcher

Jockey: Florent Geroux

Record: 3-0-1 in four starts

20. Combatant (50-1)

Owners: Winchell Thoroughbreds and Willis Horton Racing

Trainer: Steve Asmussen

Jockey: Ricardo Santana Jr.

Record: 1-3-1 in seven starts


Read more about:

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Listen to the uInterview Podcast!
Get the most-revealing celebrity conversations with the uInterview podcast!