Baltimore Orioles infielder Gunnar Henderson and Diamondbacks outfielder Corbin Carroll have been named the 2023 Jackie Tobisnon Rookies of the Year.

This is the first time since 2017 that a rookie won the award unanimously when it went to Aaron Judge and Cody Bellinger. 

Henderson, who earned the NL Rookie of the Year honors, won over Cleveland Guardians Tanner Bibbe and Boston Red Sox first baseman Triston Casas.

Carroll won the AL Rookie of the Year over New York Mets’ Kodai Senga and Los Angeles Dodgers James Outman.


A week of sports news in your in-box.
We find the sports news you need to know, so you don't have to.

Carroll received first-place honors after hitting .285/.362/.506 with 25 home runs and 54 stolen bases, which was the second most in MLB.

Henderson helped the Orioles to an AL East Title. 

The Orioles and Diamondbacks will receive an additional first-round pick in 2024 in part due to the Prospect Promotion Incentive that the players’ union pushed for in collective bargaining negotiations. Henderson and Carroll will receive $750,000 for winning the award as part of the pre-arbitration bonus pool in the CBA.

Read more about:

Leave a comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.

Listen to the uInterview Podcast!
Get the most-revealing celebrity conversations with the uInterview podcast!