The US Open, the final of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments played around the world, will begin this Monday, August 28 in Flushing, Queens.


This year, both the men’s and women’s tournament are harder to predict, as usual powerhouses on both sides are not competing.

Serena Williams, one of the most dominant athletes in tennis, will not be participating in this year’s Open. On the men’s side, Novak Djokovic, widely considered one of the best male tennis players of his time, will also be absent from the tournament as he recovers from an elbow injury.

Still, the men’s side will feature usual powerhouse players Rafael Nadal, currently the number one ranked player, and Roger Federer, who is ranked at number 3.

The two-week tournament, which is shaping up to be an exciting one, begins on Monday at 11 a.m. EST. Find below an explanation of the TV schedule below.

ARTHUR ASHE KID’s day Tickets here

ESPN 3 will be the first to broadcast the tournament starting at 11 a.m. EST. That broadcast will go until 1 p.m., when the broadcast will be switched over to ESPN, where it will remain until 11 p.m. This will be the normal broadcast schedule until Tuesday, September 5, the first day of the quarterfinals.

For the two-day quarterfinals, both men’s and women’s coverage will run from noon until 11 p.m. on ESPN.

The women’s semifinals will be broadcast on Thursday, September 7 from 7 p.m. until 11 p.m., with the men’s semifinals airing the following day at 4 p.m. on ESPN.

A similar schedule be run for the final with the women’s match airing at 4 p.m. on Saturday, September 9, and the men’s airing at 4 p.m. on Sunday, September 10, the final match of the tournament.

Read more about:
Chat With uSports On Facebook! Get latest news and interviews delivered directly to your Messenger!