The NFL offensive rookie of the year race may be in the books for Justin Herbert.

The Los Angeles Chargers rookie quarterback was in a tight race with Cincinnati Bengals quarterback Joe Burrow for the award. Both rookies managed to outclass fellow classmates  with their consistent plays and performance. It effectively turned into a two-player race between Burrow and Herbert.

Heading into the season Burrow was the favorite to win the award. Burrow was the starting quarterback from week one for the Bengals. Herbert was not a starter for the Chargers until Tyrod Taylor suffered an injury before their game against the Kansas City Chiefs in week two. Herbert subsequently showed his skill as he recorded above 300 passing yards with two touchdowns and two interceptions combined from his first two games.

From just 11 weeks, Burrow has 2,688 passing yards, 13 touchdowns and just five interceptions with three rushing touchdowns. While Herbert has 2,699 yards, 22 touchdowns, six interceptions with three rushing touchdowns. Burrow still was the favorite to win as he had a +150 odds to win while Herbert rose to a +125 odd.

However, that looks to have changed after Burrow suffered a season-ending injury with a torn ACL in week 11, which he confirmed on his Twitter.


With Burrow out, Herbert is now in command to win the race if he continues to keep up his performance.

Read more about:
Chat With uSports On Facebook! Get latest news and interviews delivered directly to your Messenger!