Frank Gore and Joe Staley are among the eight finalists for the 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, the NFL announced early Monday.

Frank Gore, Joe Staley Among Finalists For 2016 Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

The award was established in 2014 in honor of the late Art Rooney Sr., the founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers who died in 1988. Arizona’s Larry Fitzgerald was the inaugural winner, and Oakland’s Charles Woodson won it one year ago in his final NFL season.

Staley, an offensive lineman who has been selected to five straight Pro Bowls, is finishing his 10th season with the San Francisco 49ers. Running back Gore, a 12-year NFL veteran, first played 10 seasons with the 49ers before signing with the Indianapolis Colts in 2015.

The eight finalists were selected from an original list of 32 nominees, who were announced last month. All eight finalists– four from each conference– have Pro Bowl experience and have a combined 38 Pro Bowl selections.

The winner of the award is set to be announced on the eve of Super Bowl 51 in Houston. Here are the finalists for the award:

LB Brian Cushing, Houston
RB Frank Gore, Indianapolis
TE Greg Olson, Carolina
LB Julius Peppers, Green Bay
RB Darren Sproles, Philadelphia
OL Joe Staley, 49ers
LB DeMarcus Ware, Denver
OL Marshall Yanda, Baltimore

The winner will also receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. The trophy represents the crucial role that sportsmanship plays in football and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – DECEMBER 11: Frank Gore #23 of the Indianapolis Colts runs for a touchdown in the third quarter of game against the Houston Texans at Lucas Oil Stadium on December 11, 2016 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Michael Hickey/Getty Images)

Read more about:
Listen to the uInterview Podcast!
Get the most-revealing celebrity conversations with the uInterview podcast!